Friday, December 1, 2017 | 7:30 PM | Carnegie Hall’s ‘Distinctive Debuts’ series in Weill Recital Hall


  • BACH  Violin Partita No. 3 in E Major
  • GEORGE CRUMB  Four Nocturnes (Night Music II)
  • SCHUBERT  Fantasy in C Major, D. 934
  • ESA-PEKKA SALONEN  Lachen verlernt
  • RESPIGHI  Violin Sonata in B Minor

At a Glance

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH  Violin Partita No. 3 in E Major, BWV 1006

Bach’s six sonatas and partitas for unaccompanied violin have delighted listeners—and tested the mettle of performers—ever since their rediscovery during the 19th-century Bach revival. The E-Major Partita is a suite of five stylized dances prefaced by a bright, bravura Preludio.  

GEORGE CRUMB  Four Nocturnes (Night Music II)

George Crumb’s music is characterized by richly evocative poetic imagery and exotic timbral effects, often produced by unconventional instrumental techniques. These four short “night” pieces seem to emanate from a surreal world in which both the passage of time and traditional rules of musical syntax are suspended.

FRANZ SCHUBERT  Fantasy in C Major, D. 934

Schubert’s richly melodious Fantasy is recognized as a masterpiece today, but it received mixed reviews at its premiere in 1828. One newspaper tartly observed that the lengthy piece “occupied rather too much of the time a Viennese is prepared to devote to pleasures of the mind.”

ESA-PEKKA SALONEN  Lachen verlernt

The title Lachen verlernt (Laughing Unlearned) alludes to Schoenberg’s Pierrot lunaire, in which the narrator begs Pierrot to teach her to laugh again. Esa-Pekka Salonen’s somberly lyrical music is based on a repeated sequence of chords—half heard and half implied—that underlies the solo violinist’s increasingly agitated antics.

OTTORINO RESPIGHI  Violin Sonata in B Minor

Respighi was still smarting from the disappointing reception of Fountains of Rome—the first of his symphonic poems and destined to be a concert-hall staple—when he wrote this bracingly virtuosic sonata in 1917. The two works share a lyrical, richly textured late-Romantic idiom.

Click here for more information.

Tue, November 28th, 2017 | 7:30pm | New England Conservatory: Jordan Hall

Artist Diploma Recital: Alexi Kenney


  1. Partita for Violin solo no 3 in E major, BWV 1006

    Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

    Artists: Alexi Kenney

  2. Four Nocturnes

    Composer: George Crumb

    Artists: Renana Gutman, Alexi Kenney

  3. Fantasy for Violin and Piano in C major, D 934/Op. posth. 159

    Composer: Franz Schubert

    Artists: Renana Gutman, Alexi Kenney

  4. Lachen Verlernt

    Composer: Esa-Pekka Salonen

    Artists: Alexi Kenney

  5. Sonata for Violin and Piano in B minor

    Composer: Ottorino Respighi

    Artists: Renana Gutman, Alexi Kenney

Click here for more information.

The Philadelphia premiere of METAMORPHOSES by George Crumb - Wed, November 8, 8 pm

The Philadelphia premiere of METAMORPHOSES  by George Crumb
performed with video projections by Monica Duncan

Wed, November 8, 8 pm
(6.15 pm: gallery access)
Barnes Foundation
2025 Benjamin Franklin Parkway
Philadelphia, PA 19130
(Please scroll down for podcast discussion on Metamorphoses)

Metamorphoses trailer:

Crows over the Wheatfield:

The composer will be in attendance.